Analysis

Elegoo Neptune 4 Analysis: Specs and Performance

The Elegoo Neptune 4, released in 2023, makes one very specific bet: bringing high-speed printing figures — a claimed 500 mm/s — down to the entry level, at a manufacturer's MSRP of $249. To hit that price it strips out everything that is not printing: no Wi-Fi, no camera, no multi-color, no enclosure. That trade is not necessarily bad, but you should know exactly what you are buying. This is a hype-free look at its spec sheet: what its numbers promise, what they leave out, and which rivals in its bracket it is really up against.

500 mm/s for $249: what sits behind the number

Elegoo claims a 500 mm/s top speed and 20,000 mm/s² of acceleration — numbers that belonged to a different price class when this machine launched. The honest reading: top speed is a theoretical ceiling that only shows up on long, straight moves. On real parts, acceleration rules, because it decides how much time the head loses on every corner. The claimed 20,000 mm/s² is, on paper, the strongest number on this sheet.

What the sheet does not state is the maximum extrusion flow rate in mm³/s — the figure that actually caps sustained speed. Without it, there is no way to convert the headline speed into real print times, so the round marketing number deserves the usual skepticism.

Direct drive and temperatures

The extruder is direct drive, which on paper makes flexible filaments easier to print by shortening the filament path to the melt zone. The nozzle reaches 300 °C — unusual headroom at this price, and in theory an open door to materials more demanding than PLA or PETG. One important caveat: the sheet does not state what the nozzle is made of, so before planning on abrasive fiber-filled filaments, confirm that detail — standard nozzles wear out quickly on them.

The bed reaches 110 °C over a PEI plate, a surface valued for adhesion and durability. That temperature comfortably covers the typical materials for an open-frame machine; for warp-prone technical filaments the limit is not the bed but the missing enclosure.

Leveling, noise and power

Auto-leveling relies on an inductive sensor probing a 121-point mesh — a dense grid for a bed this size that should, in theory, map surface irregularities well. On day-to-day coexistence, the sheet claims 50 dB of operating noise — without stating measurement conditions, as usual — and a rated power of 310 W, a restrained figure for its class.

What it leaves out, and why it matters

Here is the real price of the $249 tag. Per its spec sheet, the Neptune 4 has neither Wi-Fi nor a camera: no sending jobs over the network, no checking a print from your phone — a workflow that similarly priced rivals already treat as standard. There is no multi-color system and no compatibility with one, and the frame is open with no heated chamber, which rules out the more warp-sensitive engineering materials. The official slicer is the Elegoo edition of Cura, a well-known base with plenty of documentation around it.

Against the Neptune 4 Plus and the Ender 3 V3s

Within its own family, the Neptune 4 Plus (2023, manufacturer's MSRP $350) offers a far larger volume: 320 x 320 x 385 mm against 225 x 225 x 265 mm. It keeps the 500 mm/s and the 300 °C nozzle, though its claimed acceleration drops to 12,000 mm/s², and it does include Wi-Fi. If part size matters to you, the in-house comparison is the one to study.

From Creality, the Ender 3 V3 KE (2023, $299) matches the 500 mm/s with a lower claimed acceleration (8,000 mm/s²), but it publishes its maximum flow rate — 32 mm³/s — and brings Wi-Fi, input shaping and OrcaSlicer support. Its volume is smaller (220 x 220 x 240 mm) and its bed stops at 100 °C. The Ender 3 V3 SE ($219) is the step below: 250 mm/s, 2,500 mm/s² and a 260 °C nozzle — the cheapest of the group, but on paper a previous generation of performance.

The trade is clear: the Neptune 4 offers the highest motion and temperature figures of the group at a low price, and in exchange it is the only machine in its bracket with no network connectivity on its sheet at all.

Who it is for — and who it is not for

The matching profile is sharp: someone who wants maximum raw specs per dollar and does not mind operating the printer standing next to it.

FAQ

Does the Neptune 4 have Wi-Fi?
No. According to its spec sheet it includes neither Wi-Fi nor an integrated camera; operation and supervision happen at the machine.
What slicer does it use?
The official software is the Elegoo edition of Cura, built on one of the most thoroughly documented slicing bases available.
Is it an enclosed printer?
No, it is an open-frame machine with no enclosure or heated chamber as standard. For warp-sensitive technical materials, look at a different category.
Can it print abrasive filaments?
The nozzle reaches 300 °C, but the sheet does not state what the nozzle is made of. Confirm that before running fiber-filled filaments — standard nozzles wear out fast on abrasives.
What is its official price?
The manufacturer's MSRP is $249. Around it sit the Ender 3 V3 KE ($299), the Ender 3 V3 SE ($219) and its bigger sibling, the Neptune 4 Plus ($350).

Sources & references

Specs cross-checked against these public sources: